No Smoking/Vaping in any of our units. Utah Law requires that there is no smoking within 25 feet of any doorway or window. Smoking in the units will result in an automatic eviction
No Pets. We do not allow pets of any kind in our properties with no exceptions. We consider that pets are different by definition than service animals. The Utah Fair Housing Act amended in 2011 requires that we must allow service animals. We adhere to the guidelines provided by the Utah Housing Authority as stated in Section R608-1-17. http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/bulletin/2011/20110815/35094.htm In order to be considered to have a Service Animal we require 1- Animal Identification Form 2- Medical Request Form 3- Affidavit and Request for a Companion Animal. All three forms can be requested at the BRIM Properties office.
No more than two residents per bedroom
BRIM Properties strictly follows the Utah Fair Housing Act in accordance with Title 57 Chapter 21 regarding discrimination
No Criminal Activity BRIM Properties is a member of the Utah Good Landlord Program and as such any and all criminal activity on any of our properties is reported to us by Unified Police. Any criminal activity on the property will result in an eviction.
Satellite Dishes BRIM Properties follows the policies and procedures of satellite dishes as set forth by the FCC. At lease signing all tenants are given the Satellite Dish Addendum with FCC rules and regulations for Satellite Dishes. Any violation of this addendum will result in the automatic loss of the full deposit and a possible eviction.
Single Family Homes Salt Lake County regulations regarding single family homes requires that no more than three unrelated individuals can occupy a single family home. More than 3 unrelated roommates applying for a single family home will not receive consideration due to Salt Lake County's Regulations.
Non-resident co-signers will only be allowed in special and unusual circumstances. Generally only in the case of full time students. Co-signers will not be allowed for applicants who are denied based on their Credit Check, Background Check, or Past Landlord reference. All non-resident co-signers will be required to meet the same criteria as regular applicants. Co-signers will be required to provide BRIM Properties with full contact information, and be a full participant on the lease agreement.
30 Day Deposit Refund Utah law allows any Landlord 30 days from the time the property is vacated to refund any amounts of the deposit that are remaining. All amounts will be send via check to the forwarding address provided by the tenant. A final accounting statement along with any receipts for work performed will be included.
Late Fee All rents are due on the first of each month and considered late after the fifth. Late fees are equal to 10% of the monthly rent. If only a portion of the rent is paid by the fifth the entire late fee will still be assessed.
Non Sufficient Funds Fee Any and all bounced checks and Electronic Funds Transfers will be charged a $40 NSF fee. As well rent will be considered as paid late for the month and subject to the 10% late fee as stated above.
Lease Approvals- Once an application has been approved we will hold that approval for no longer than 48 business hours without a signed lease contract. Once the lease contract has been signed tenants will then have 24 business hours to log into the website and make the deposit and lease initiation fee payment. We will not hold a vacant unit with a signed contract and a full deposit any longer than 2 weeks from the time of lease signing to the lease commencement date.
Roommate Transfers BRIM Properties does allow for roommate transfers with a lease in place. Roommate transfer criteria is as follows:
- The tenant(s) leaving or the tenants remaining in the property will be responsible to find the replacement roommate. BRIM Properties will not advertise, show, or in other anyway try to find a replacement roommate.
- BRIM Properties will not deal with deposits or pro-rations of rent from out-going and incoming tenants. It is the responsibility of the parties coming in and going out to deal with between them. BRIM Properties will only deal with deposits once all contractual obligations have been fulfilled and all residents have vacated the property. When all tenants have vacated the property and the account is settled, only one (1) deposit refund check will be issued to one resident of whom the roommates all elect to receive it. It will be the responsibility of that tenant to disperse funds to other residents for deposit refunds.
- All potential tenants must fill out an application on the website and be approved by BRIM Properties. BRIM Properties has full authority to deny an application for a new roommate based on the usual criteria as outlined under the section General Policies as listed on our website. All parties will be notified by email when the new applicant has been approved. Both the out-going and in-coming tenants will need to make an appointment to come into the BRIM Properties office to sign the lease transfer document.
- Keys, mail, and garage door openers will not be provided for or exchanged by BRIM Properties. It will be the responsibility of the out-going and incoming roommates to exchange said items.
- There will be a one-time Roommate Transfer Fee of $300 paid to BRIM Properties at the time the lease and transfer documents are signed. Transfer fee must be paid with certified funds. No new tenants will be allowed to occupy the property until they have received an approval on their application, signed the Roommate Transfer Document, and the Roommate Transfer Fee has been paid.